The song says, “Short people got no reason to live”. I was very young when it came out and our family didn’t listen to such music, so I’m not quite sure how I even knew of its existence at the time but I remember it made me really sad.

I’ve always been small of stature. Or as the politically correct term would be, vertically challenged. I thought I was destined to be 4′ 11″ tall for the rest of my life. But God had mercy on me and I am now 5′ 1/4″ tall. Hee. I can rest in peace. I made my goal in life of reaching 5 feet. (Um, yes, that’s a joke. Smile. It’s funny.)

The problem with being short is that many times we feel invisible. We feel like we’re missing out in the world. We can’t reach the top shelf, we can’t see over the counter in the bank, we can’t run as fast (or sometimes walk) because our stride isn’t the length of others, we can’t hit a baseball because the pitcher can’t throw that low, can’t play volleyball unless we stand so close to the net we may as well just roll the ball to the other side, and on and on and on…

There’s someone else who can identify with this problem. His name is Zacchaeus and he desperately wanted to see Jesus. He’d heard all about this man and Jesus was coming to his town. So as the crowds gathered around, Zacchaeus tried and tried to get a glimpse of this man. But no matter how much he pushed his way through or how high he tried to jump he couldn’t see Jesus.

Then he had an epiphany! He found a Sycamore tree and he climbed up on a branch above the crowd. And there He was … Jesus!

He watched as Jesus walked and talked to those around him and I think he might have been satisfied with just being up high enough to see this “rock star” but then a miracle happened.

When Jesus came to the tree, he looked up and said,
“Zacchaeus, come down! I must stay at your house today.”
Luke 19:5*

Did Jesus just ask to come visit ME?

We all know this story about how Zacchaeus was not liked because he was a tax collector and then how he came to salvation. But I want to focus on this: Jesus didn’t care that Zacchaeus was short. Jesus wanted Zacchaeus to know He cares about him. He sees him. He hears him. Zacchaeus was not invisible to Him.

Are you feeling a bit lonely today? Are you feeling a bit left out? Everyone else has a book or a manuscript or a popular blog/website, but you’re still waiting to be noticed.

Take heart dear writer. God sees you. He knows you. You are not invisible to Him. And your time is coming in His perfect timing.

No matter if you are short or tall, a beginner or a seasoned writer, you have every reason to live and to write.

And if you need to, get up high in a Sycamore tree and see if you can find a better view of where you’re at and where you need to go.

Don’t give up, look up,

Marcie Bridges

 

MarcieBioHeadshotNew_smallMarcie Bridges

Author Care Rep for LPC

authorcare@lighthousepublishingofthecarolinas.com

www.lpcbooks.com

