Procrastination. I bet you didn’t know that is my first, middle, and last name, did you?

I’ve always had a problem with it. I don’t believe I have ADD but I do get distracted and sidetracked easily. Many times I get started on something and then I see something else that needs to be done so I begin doing it and before long another thing pops up that seems even more important and well, nothing gets completely done.

Can you relate?

I once heard someone say that those who are prone to procrastination are perfectionists. We strive to be perfect in all we do. I had to laugh at that one. Me? A perfectionist? Nahhhh…

But over the years I have found that with certain things I do tend to want to make it the best it can be and therefore, I am a perfectionist in those areas of life.

Like … writing. And editing. (Care to take a guess at how many times I’ll read over this and tweak it before I actually hit publish? Go on. Try. I betcha you can’t.)

I really always took in the idea that a procrastinator is lazy. That’s what I heard a lot growing up. We just don’t motivate ourselves to be respectful of even our own time and therefore, we are lazy people. But recently it has been discussed that procrastinators are not necessarily lazy, we just don’t like making decisions. Hmm … that sounds vaguely familiar. (Care to guess how long I can take in a Hallmark© store trying to decide on a card for someone?)

Nope. I don’t like making decisions. This was often a detriment to me during college. Especially writing essays. I had the hardest time coming up with topics to write about and don’t even get me started on coming up with a title for them. Sigh.

Procrastination can be the product of being lazy. It can also be the product of just not being organized, self-disciplined, self-controlled, or perhaps there is too much on our plate to have the capacity to get anything done. Maybe we’ve made a list but instead of that list helping us, it overwhelmed us (as this happens often to me)? Well, what can we do about it?

Depending on our life’s circumstances, we can only do what we can do at that time. It is fruitless to spend all of our time going from task to task never finishing or accomplishing anything. That only causes more frustration.

Likewise, it is fruitless to keep waiting. To not make decisions or to continue putting this off.

If you struggle with this area of your life, there are plenty of places on the internet to find advice on how to stop procrastinating. I don’t believe all procrastination is bad. I believe sometimes we do have to put things off for a time until we have the ability to fulfill that item on our list. However, if it has become a problem area in our life, we need to seek help on how to deal with it.

God clearly wants what is best for us. He doesn’t want us feeling unfulfilled and heavy-hearted. Go to Him in prayer about the best ways you can get back started on the areas you have procrastinated on, then seek help from family, friends, and professionals to gain the contentment in life that only comes from God.

I have found that when things are a mess around me and I keep putting off getting that area of my life cleaned up, I am a mess on the inside too. I can not concentrate, make clear decisions, or have peace of mind until I have made a plan and acted toward finding a solution to the problem.

In what areas of your writing career are you procrastinating? What ways can you think of to help yourself get started on it? Perhaps making a list will help or a friend can help you with brainstorming to find the right solution. Maybe we just need to figure out why we are procrastinating and that alone will help us begin a plan toward a solution.

Whatever you do, seek God first and He will guide you in establishing your steps.

A man’s heart plans his way,
But the Lord directs his steps.
Proverbs 16:9

Happy Planning!

Marcie

 

Bible Resources on Procrastination from the Web:

Why Do I Procrastinate by Rick Warren

What Does the Bible Say about Procrastination at Got Questions.org
https://www.gotquestions.org/procrastination-Bible.html

Preventing the Decay of Delay
http://www.hopefortheheart.org/procrastination/

picture courtesy of:  https://pixabay.com/en/users/annawaldl-3773640/

 

MarcieBioHeadshotNew_smallMarcie Bridges

Author Care Rep of LPC

authorcare@lighthousepublishingofthecarolinas.com

www.lpcbooks.com

